Faith-Based Initiatives

Barry Lynn, of Americans United for Separation of Church and State, tells about reading the latest from the Obama camp about his continued support of Bush’s faith-based initiatives and nearly spilling his cornflakes.  A part of his article in the Huffington Post:

No, I’m not a fan of the faith-based initiative. That may seem odd, as I am a Christian minister. Let’s just say I come from the old school and take what these days is becoming an unusual view: Religion should pay its own way in the world. If Pastor Bob wants to start a ministry, good for Pastor Bob. Let Pastor Bob’s congregation pay for it.

Barry W. Lynn: Do We Really Need A ‘Faith-Based’ Initiative? – Politics on The Huffington Post

I’m preparing a sermon on freedom for this Sunday and I can’t help but be thankful for my Baptist forefathers and mothers who cherished freedom of religion and from the nasty combination that occurs when church and state are mixed together.  I’ll hold my comments there, lest I run out of things to say this Sunday.  Anyone out there who thinks faith-based initiatives are necessary?  good?  Any examples of those that have allowed each party to maintain integrity and stay free from the control of the other?

Blogged with the Flock Browser

Tags: , ,

About John Henson

I am a Postulant for Holy Orders in The Episcopal Church, Pastor of Church for the Highlands in the Highland neighborhood of Shreveport, LA, and Chaplain of Volunteers of America of North Louisiana. Member of Citizen Potawatomi Nation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment